Cindy @ Japan

Saturday, January 07, 2006

The day my neighbours had to help me dig my car out...

So I was going out, but there was a huge heap of snow in front of all the parking lots cos they were clearing snow from the roof this morning. I shovelled away some of the snow in front of my lot and thought that my car should be able to go over the rest, so *vroom* I charged my little car at the slightly flattened heap of snow like it's some power jeep. The car was going over the snow nicely then OH NO! It was stuck! I couldn't go forward, neither could I reverse!! The worse thing was I couldn't even open my door to get out cos of the snow. *SIGH* Crawled out through the passenger door instead.

Got my shovel out again and started digging . A kind lady who just came home saw my predicament and got her shovel out to help. For 15 mins, we dug the snow out from around the wheels (which might perhaps have been the wrong strategy) and I tried reversing the car. Didn't work. What happened was basically my car was suspended in the middle by the snow and the wheels were not in contact with the ground.

Neighbour 1 shouted to another neighbour on the 2nd floor who came down to help shovel. It was really hard work! The snow was hard and compacted by the weight of the car and there was only a little gap between the car and the snow. They tried pushing with me revving the engine but ended up screaming when the wheels kicked up lots of snow and ice.

A third lady appeared out of nowhere with a shovel and started digging too. By this time I was thoroughly embarrassed by all the fuss and tried telling them that it was ok, I could leave my car out here and wait for the snow to melt, but they wouldn't let me cos there was heavy snowfall forecast for the night. DIG, DIG, DIG...not much headway made.

Then, our saviour arrived in the form of a 50+/60-yr old man with a shovel (dunno where he came from; no one called him). We moved aside and he started digging out huge chunks of icy snow that we just couldn't dislodge. Within 10 mins he accomplished what we were trying to do for the last half hour. When I successfully reversed the car, all of them cheered and clapped! All were probably thinking "great! Now I can go back home and hopefully never see this stupid girl again!"

What a great way of introducing myself to my neighbours! I felt terribly bad (and stupid). Said a lot of sorries and thank yous. Then, the kind first lady got her son to bring packets of soybean milk from her apartment and gave a packet to everyone including the troublemaker me! So nice of her. I will make all of them a pot of kaya as a token of my appreciation.

Actually, halfway through digging, I wanted to run up to my apartment to get my camera, but I didn't think that they would appreciate the humour of the situation. So no photos, sorry.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home